Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

OPENING LINE

When I got up this morning I found that Sky was back on again --- and its stayed on all day.  So far so good. 

I had intended going to Newcastle to do some shopping - and also to check out a few of the Shaun The Sheep figures which are around town at the moment.   But it was raining heavily and I didn't fancy wandering around in that kind of weather.  So I got the bus to Gateshead instead.  The shops are closer together in Gateshead so I didn't get very wet. 

I had a mooch in all the charity shops - and made some purchases.  Then I did some shopping in Tesco.  Haven't been to this big Tesco for a while and I bought a bit too much resulting in two very heavy bags to carry to the bus station. 

The Wide Wednesday challenge theme today is " Man Made" so Ive blipped " Opening Line".  This structure divides the lanes of buses  at the Interchange in Gateshead where you can catch a bus or the Metro.  Its made from laser-cut steel and etched glass and is 100 metres long.  It was created by sculptor Danny Lane and it has been in place since 2004.

There are 19 images in the structure which allude to the region's engineering and maritime heritage as well as the performing arts and mythology.   The steel will withstand a skidding bus and the artist has templates for all the glass panels so any of them can be replaced if needs be. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting the challenge.

Neil and Rachael are enjoying their time in Canada. So far they have been to Lake Ontario, watched a cricket match, been to a baseball game and had a day out at Niagara Falls ... where Neil went on the zip wire. 

Steps today - 6,073

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.