Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Kingfisher

Today, I actually make it beyond the garden! The sun is shining, and it’s a joy to be able to get into the car with relative ease, not grimacing every time we go over the slightest bump! 

This new-found freedom takes us to The Spinnies.  I’ve not been here for months, and I’m eager to see something of its family of kingfishers.  Always a good place to see these gorgeous birds, there are currently two juveniles honing their fishing skills alongside the adults. Of course, there are never any guarantees, so I try to curb my expectations. 

We walk from the car, suddenly realising that I’m walking at a ‘normal’ speed - and realising I’m slightly breathless from the speed! How wonderful! 

Of course, there have been numerous earlier sightings of the kings, the occupants of the hide are keen to tell me, so I settle down hoping there will soon be a return. For now, entertainment comes from the distant trees which are full of little egrets perching and preening quite beautifully.  

Then suddenly, a male juvenile arrives. I’m always at just how small they are, and in the shade, this tiny bird has so little tell-take colour I almost fail to see him. Still, it’s a kingfisher, so I’m happy. I’m still trying out my new camera and its settings, and I’m torn between a close-up view on a lower shutter speed - much needed in this light, or staying wide with high-speed settings in the hope that I can get a shot of him diving. Of course, they are so quick, and from his perch close to the water, it’s a split second move between being on the branch and returning with a catch. Still, I do get some action shots of sorts, and hope that on another day I’ll manage better.  

Thankfully, he decides to move into the sun, posing briefly for us, iridescent feathers now seen in all their glory. 

So, happy that I’ve got some shots - well a few hundred actually! - I decide that will do for now. I’m feeling weary, and it’s time to find the ever-patient G who’s sitting on the beach, wrapped up against the chilly wind. It really feels more like October than August at the moment - but at least the sun is shining. 

My main’s a static sunlit shot, with a variety of extras, including one of him emerging from the water with a catch - I’m pleased with this, but feel it lacks the quality to be a main. There’s also probably my favourite shot today - the egret preening in the tree - but I came for kingfishers, so kingfishers win! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.