Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Jump!

This is the species that changed my view on spiders (which for my entire life had incited fear and loathing).  But there was just something about those big, inquisitive eyes and the fearless attitude...and now I have a cordial relationship with most arachnids and a bit of a love-fest with jumping spiders in particular.  Anyway, easy choice for today's blip.

That being said, I had some wonderful discoveries in the garden today including several new species of insects.  In fact, I've as yet been unable to identify one of them so getting ready to put the question out to an entomology group.  I have to say that it has gotten much easier in the last few years with the apps that are available to identify things.  Beetles, however, are still poorly represented on most of the apps so old-fashioned sleuthing is required.  I will put my mystery beetle in Extra.  My best guess is some sort of darkling beetle, but I could be totally wrong.  Whatever it is, it is quite small, maybe 1/3 of an inch or less?  And when I first spotted it, it was traveling with me on my camera.  

Had a young fox in the yard today but he was too quick for me to get a shot.  No bears (so far) today.  If you missed my bear shot yesterday, look in the Extras for a rather poor shot.  

In addition to poking around in my garden, I also caught up with both Peggy and Ellen for nice, long chats.  And although I haven't made the dark choice yet today, I am leaning towards ginger...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.