Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Punctuating my afternoon

A reserve walk this morning, but really, right now it's very hard to spot any birds at all (apart from pigeons and the occasional blackbird).  The warblers are gone and the permanent residents are moulting, hiding and generally feeling anti-social.  I did get a flashing glimpse of the kingfisher speeding upstream, I heard the sparrohawk chicks screaming and saw one of the cathedral peregrines plus breakfast flying high overhead, but apart from a very tatty red admiral, even the butterflies and damselflies were absent.

So you can imagine how delighted I was to see this beautiful comma butterfly in the garden this afternoon, sitting on one of my tubs of ferns.  It's the second one this year - before which I've never had them visit.  The new planting is definitely doing it's job attracting pollinators.

Not a lot else to report - pootling about, reading, walking Hazel - all good peaceful stuff.

Enjoy your evening and I hope the week begins well for you  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.