eyesee

By davidc

Derelict Sunday

We were supposed to be driving to Derbyshire today for the 80th birthday party of my sister-in-law's partner. However as yesterday afternoon went on I felt as if I was developing a cold - not too bad but in view of the forthcoming social engagement (with old-ish folk!) I thought I'd better do a Covid test just to be sure. Bother: it was positive. Not sure where it came from but I gather there's a new variant doing the rounds which is relatively resistant to the effect of the jabs/previous infection (it's 18 months since my last personal encounter with the bug and almost a year since my last booster jab).

So even though it's (thankfully) quite mild (not even in the "man-flu class as yet anyway: I don't feel  "derelict" enough to blip myself for the DS challenge!) we had to cancel our travel plans. The silver lining is that it's given me time to start the plumbing work for the new radiators sooner than I expected. So the relevant floorboards have been raised and work has begun.

It's 30+ years since I installed the previous radiators in this room. The old steel pipes you can see here (which I've sawn off now) were redundant and disconnected even before that but I had to remove them to make way for some of the new pipework. I decided that a view of the work, including the remains of the pipework and the inevitable accumulation of debris under the floor of an early-1900s house would make a suitable subject for Marlieske's DS challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.