Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

It's an ill wind......

.....that blows nobody any good - or put another way, every calamity, loss or misfortune is of advantage to someone - read on to find out more!

If you have ever seen a bear with a sore head, multiply that by two and you will have some idea of what it was like in our house last night. We had no television service and our internet had been down since the morning, so I was not happy and nor was Mr HCB.

Tonight I am going to a friend's house and we will be having a traditional English High Tea complete with cucumber sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and trifle - so I was hoping to blip that - but having rung our internet provider this morning, they are not sure the upgrading works will be completed for a while - so I decided on an "emergency blip" - our garden.

That was - until I had been into school and afterwards walked to the bus stop. There I saw this lovely man - and if you look back to this blip you will see him, looking shrammed and well wrapped up, complete with gloves, on a very cold February day.

Today it was sunny and warm and as I chatted with him, I remarked that it was warmer than when I had last seen him. Then I was really brave and asked if I could take a photograph of him and he agreed, so here he is! I told him about my blips and said that everyone would think he was a very handsome man - and his response was "Well, that's because I am!" We chatted some more and as before, he was grumbling about the poor bus service, the weather and how he loved being able to get out and about because he had a mobility walker. He was keen to explain to me how it worked and how it folded, so I let him chat on - putting in the right word at the right time - I hope!

I am so glad I decided to walk a bit further, and was able to chat to him again - when I got off the bus I said that I hoped it wouldn't be so long before I saw him again - and he smiled and said he hoped so too.

I am now sitting in my favourite wine bar - drinking only coffee, I hasten to add - using their wifi and hoping to catch up with all my subs that I missed last night - such is the addiction of being a blipper!! It's a good job that Mr. HCB is at cricket so he won't miss me - I have just spoken to him and he is having a good day!

The right word
at the right time
is like precious gold
set in silver.
Proverbs 25:11
Contemporary English Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.