PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Saying Goodbye

It's never easy, but in two months time that's what I have to do. I'm really sad to announce that I will be leaving the bear centre and Vietnam at the end of July :( The decision has been such an incredibly hard one to make. I love my wonderful job here with Animals Asia. I've gotten to know and love the bears with all my heart, made some wonderful friendships and had some amazing once in a lifetime experiences. There will be a lot of tears shed over the coming months.

But an amazing opportunity has come up to join the crew at Perth Zoo, WA working in their veterinary hospital. Perth has long been a dream of mine - the conservation work they do with both Australian native endangered species and also species in Asia (bears and orangutans in particular) is amazing and I'm really excited that I'll get to be a part of that. They do have sun bears thankfully!! So I'm still going to get my bear fix! And another bonus is that I get to have my beautiful Bonnie back with me, who I miss so very much.

Also, happily will get to visit on my way to and back from Africa in September! Somewhat easing the goodbye's I hope! AND... I'll be coming back for a visit when our new bear enclosures are finished so I can finally see all our lovely den bears walking on grass and enjoying the sunshine :)

So for me I'm trying not to think of it as goodbye, but more of a 'see ya later!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.