Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Up the street without a paddle!

It's late afternoon and I'm struggling to remember what I did this morning!  Ah now I do! We're planning to go over to Islay for a few days at the end of September so we were trying to find a reasonably priced hotel. Nothing was forthcoming, so we thought we'd go for a B&B. One looked quite good but they didn't do breakfast! We eventually settled for a small self-catering cottage which seemed fairly cheap and booked it through Booking.com, of which I appear to be a member. 

We had confirmation, then a message from the owner telling us that we had a bargain as he hadn't realised that Booking.com took their fee from the advertised cost of the cottage and he would need to put the price up in future to cope with it! Booking the car ferry seemed to be unnecessarily difficult, though I finally sorted it at the fourth attempt. Maybe it's just me!

Walked down town after lunch to collect my train tickets from the station - I'm off to London at the end of the month. Did a bit of shopping and a great deal of talking too! Three very relevant chats - one about the difficulty of finding new committee members, one about photography and the other about plants!

My Blip today is of a kayaker who had hauled her kayak up the ramp from the beach and was returning it to the hire place up Argyll Street. 'Two wheels on my kayak, and I'm still rolling along!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.