Broken glass and nibbled peas

A damp day today after overnight rain. Did my regular litter pick this morning - quite a lot after only a week, including a lot of broken glass. A man who lives not far from the top of Jacob's Ladder where the kids have their drinking sessions (not that we're allowed to say that, of course!) told me that they often come into his garden, bang on his door and on one occasion he found two of them in his house. He told the police, but they seemed disinclined to get involved. They don't seem to try very hard; last year I phoned them to say that a chunk of wall had been knocked down not far from the police station and a load of rubbish tipped over it. They asked if I'd seen it happen and when I said no, said there was nothing they could do. Sherlock Holmes would have followed it up by chatting to some of the neighbours!

A quick visit to the Walled Garden this afternoon as I'd found one potted runner bean tuber growing well and I wanted to plant it out. I was disappointed to find that quite of few of my second pea sowings which were looking so good last week have been chewed off by animal unknown. Not slugs, but more like mice or rabbits. Very annoying!

My Blip today is of one corner of the Walled Garden which has more of the original planting. Good to see the greenhouse rebuilt, but not sure why it has no ventilation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.