Mexican wanderer

A dull, chilly day today and although I should be doing something outside I don't have the energy!

I've tried to get more done on my 'life history', in particular my time at Ross Priory. I'm trying to dig out info about my trek to Kangchenjunga in 1990 as my brother-in-law is hoping to go in November. It's quite  amazing the things that you find when you start looking - Mrs M brought down a load of papers, letters, maps etc and I know there's so much more up there!

I did pop out briefly to look for a Blip and settled for this cheery little plant - Calceolaria mexicana, native from Mexico through to Bolivia. It's an annual which seeds around - I didn't mean to bring it with me when I retired, but I think it hitched a lift in some other plant! The flowers are not much more than 15mm across, but the whole plant is quite delicate and attractive. It's good to see it pop up here and there without becoming a nuisance as it's not winter hardy. I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.