Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The hole in the wall

Another good day, getting better as time went on.  I spent some time this morning replacing some of the plastic labels in my fern bed with aluminium ones, written on with an indelible marker, I hope! I should have done it a while ago as several of the plastic labels have disappeared, which is very annoying. I do have a list of all the ferns in the bed so all may not be entirely lost, but I should have been more careful.

This afternoon I went to Dunollie as usual, continuing with finding sites for the new shrubs. I've almost done, with just a few replacements to find suitable homes for. Caroline, the resident gardener, has been making up Weldmesh cylinders for protection against the roe deer and planting the shrubs and trees. It will be some while before the results begin to show though!

Came home to sit in the sun with a cuppa, but before long was driven into the shade as the sun was too hot!

My Blip today is of one of the new plantings at Dunollie (Callistemon citrinus 'Splendens') with the gable of a ruined building behind. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.