MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Pruinosity

So pleased that the sloes on the southerly part of our property are developing normally. The ones near the house were affected by Taphrina pruni, a fungus which causes the developing fruits to distort into pocket plums and rot.

Yet another willow emerald damselfly. Of the four UK spreadwing emerald damsels: willow, common, scarce and southern, the willow is the only one that doesn't have pruinosity, the frosty-looking dust, on its body. Sloes do have it.

PS I meant to mention that I rushed to try get an image of what I initially thought was a sparrowhawk taking a bird from near my upturned  terracotta urn. I didn't have the long lens on and didn't get a shot. Having thought about the incident I now realise it was a kestrel and it is highly likely that it has taken the mouse that I have seen and tried to photograph enjoying the seed that I leave for the birds. :(   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.