gennepher

By gennepher

Ink painting

Those pesky badgers dug a tunnel into my garden. There were too many badgers coming in. But I couldn't find it. Then the other day I wa severely cutting down a Budliea tree. In the roots I found the entrance to the badger tunnel They already come in via the front garden, and I did not want another badger entrance into my back garden.

But before I could take action, cat Midnight leapt into the badger entrance and disappeared. Total panic stations from me. No amount of calling would make him come out. I was imagining the worst if he met a badger or a fox even. It is one thing to belt a badger or a fox from the safety of his swing seat, but in a tight tunnel space...

Nothing I could do, until he re emerged. Finally a couple of hours later, I had gone to bed with a cuppa by this time, Midnight appeared and got on my bed. I locked him in my bedroom, and went out. Got the wire netting and other stuff I have. Totally pushed stuff as far as I could into the hole, all covered in Chicken wire. Drove rebar through the tunnel in through the chicken wire so the badgers wouldn't be able to easily pull the stuff in or out. Did everything I could.

Then I let Midnight out of my bedroom. He went straight to the badger entrance but stopped dead when his head hit what I had put in the entrance. He was shocked he couldn't get in. His wide accusing eyes looked directly at me, "You've blocked my entrance to Narnia," his eyes accused, then he flounced off, and I didn't see him for awhile, but then everything was okay when he came back.

This was a few days ago. And my efforts to block that badger hole have worked so far...but I am going to have to check that frequently. Midnight must have been using that badger hole for awhile, but where did it lead to...the woods...a badger warren?

In the 2010's I had 3 cats, and all 3 slept all night on the swing.The trail camera was only recent (last year), so I had no idea how many badgers and foxes must have been in my garden then. I knew they were their because of their individual species 'deposits'. But I had no idea it was Piccadilly Circus nightly at rush hour all these years ago in my back garden.

Wildlife cameras.
Long night - Cat Midnight - Fox on the swing - several badgers - finally dawn & birds singing...
https://youtu.be/f-aN9vpLyv0
1 min 28 seconds

Creative is acrylic inks with hake brush and water...
Just one pic today. The sun is out, and the garden is calling me...
Take care...
Have your best day..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.