An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Strathearn Valley...

Although our lunch date with Ele and Kenny was cancelled due to poor Ele having covid, we went ahead and had lunch at the golf club.  We had a proper meal which means no cooking this evening.  Result! :-)

Afterwards we went a drive to find the venue for our goddaughter's Emily's wedding next week as the last thing we want to do is get lost on the way and be late.  

When my best friend Agnes got married (Emily's mum) back in 1987, David was late to the wedding (he was just my boyfriend then and I was already there as I was one of the bridesmaids :-) and arrived just behind the wedding car carrying Agnes and her dad!  She waved him into the church and waited till he was seated before she walked down the aisle.  He's never lived it down and I don't want a repeat!

We found the venue with ease (Inglewood House in Alloa - see extra) and after a quick look around (very lovely) we headed back home over the Ochil Hills on the Sherifmuir road to Blackford.  

Such a lovely drive with the Ochil Hills on the right and to our left  Strathearn valley looking magnificent in the summer sun (yes we had sunshine!) and the purple heather just starting to bloom.  Took the big camera with me (first time it's been in my hands since we were on holiday and even then I only used it once)  I had fun using it and think the decision to hang onto my Canon kit to use when the need / mood arises, whilst using my iPhone camera for every day stuff, was the right one.

Arrived home to a message from a friend commissioning a painting from me.  Looking forward to painting this one.  Will share once she's received it, so probably be a week or two.

Sandwich for supper and now turning my attention to my the list of things we need to take to Harris.  Determined to travel light otherwise our friend Patricia will need to be strapped to the roof box when we pick her up in Stornoway!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.