WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

8 pm

... and I hadn't taken a single photo, having taken none yesterday either. Hence a quick look round the square for a subject; I remembered seeing this pretty strand of new growth when we were stacking wood in the garage yesterday. Yes, the wood man finally delivered, just two months after we ordered it and requiring only three phone calls in the space of a week. Luckily he came in the morning, before it got unbearably hot, it only took us half an hour to stack it, and I went for a refreshing swim afterwards.

We hid from the 37C heat in the afternoon (or at least I did -- S ventured out to play table tennis). But we did go out in the evening, to see a free concert in the art gallery in Fabrezan. I made the mistake of selecting seats near the front, which made it awkward to leave before the end. I am saving the performers' blushes by not blipping them. It was chanson française, which I am not wild about, and the singer was channeling Piaf with a hard-edged and very loud voice. Plus she'd chosen obscure and dismal songs that have been forgotten for good reason. Anyway, we did eventually pluck up courage to get up and scramble over people's legs to leave. Driving home at 10:30, it was still 30C ...

This morning I took S to the airport for his trip to the UK. Unfortunately the plane was nearly two hours late, but he's landed now. Luckily he flew to East Midlands and not Manchester, so it should be a fairly easy two-hour drive. Here it is still very hot, but the wind has got up again. And that is my interesting day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.