WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Bar éphémère

We had a jolly time at the annual "garden party" in Ferrals last year with Ingrid and G. This year only Ingrid and I went, because S is away and G was too exhausted after being stuck in a traffic jam for hours. We met plenty of people we know though, plus a few we didn't. Somehow I ended up being the only non-German at a table of (eventually) 8. I don't speak German any more; I was doing OK at understanding them at first, when there were only three of them, but as more people joined us it got more difficult. Most of them did speak French and/or English as well so I was not totally at a loss!

Ingrid and I were suitably abstemious; Ingrid bought a bottle of rosé and it lasted us the whole evening as I was sipping wine and drinking water. Musical entertainment was provided by the Duo Mar, previously seen here. They played a crowd-pleasing repertoire all evening, with only a couple of breaks. They wound up at about 11, and we left shortly afterwards, getting back before the witching hour of midnight when all the streetlights are switched off and our village is plunged into Stygian gloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.