An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Pasta caring....

Apologies for the lame title and photo but as we sat down to eat I realised I hadn't taken any photos today so an emergency food blip it is! 

I was up and out early this morning for the fourth of my six (monthly) hormone implant injections that are supposed to be putting me into menopause.  Without boring you with the detail (believe me, you don't want to know!) I'm not confident they are working.  Gynae consultant was supposed to phone me last week but not heard a peep.  Will be chasing that tomorrow.

Anyhoo, injection over, back home with time to get some chores done before heading out to a local hotel to meet Janice and Fiona for our monthly lunch.  

The hotel isn't far from us so D walked me to the entrance as there's a stone chip path to their lovely garden that has quite a deep layer of stones and my wheels have gotten stuck on it in the past, but this time I sailed over it. Phew!

Fiona then Janice arrived not long after me and we had a lovely lunch and a great catch up.  It's the third time I've been there for lunch in the past month and it's been the same waitress each time.  She was waiting to open the door for me when I arrived and greeted me like an old friend.  D and I are going back on Sunday for Sunday lunch, it will be embarrassing if she's on duty again!  hahahahaha!

Time really does fly when you're having fun and before we knew it, it was 5pm and Fiona had to dash.  Janice and I stayed on a little while, eventually leaving at 5.45pm!  We are such blethers!

Janice said she would come with me to make sure I got over the stone chips, which was just as well as I didn't!  My wheels became completely embedded and I couldn't move in any direction.  I tried to move forward slowly, then back slowly, then again at speed, but my wheels were just spinning.  Of course it didn't help that by this time we were both helpless with laughter and we were both regretting our second cups of coffee!  

Janice pushed me from behind, then pulled me from the front all while I was trying different levels of power but to no avail.  I was well and truly stuck.  I was going to text HELP! to D but Janice didn't want the embarrassment of calling a man for help to disturb David, so we head scratched then Janice suggested moving the stones from behind my wheels so I could go back a little, then moving the ones at the front so I could hopefully go forward.  Genius!  Hahahahahaha!  And it worked!  Free at last!  Think I'm going to have to have a word with them about making that path more easily accessible!

Back home and D was at the driving range (he would have been well chuffed getting a SOS call! :-) so I set about making chicken and bacon pasta bake for dinner.  A new recipe to me so I was keen to see how it would turn out.  Very well infact.  Very easy to make and quite quick.  

I had chicken breasts that had to be eaten by tomorrow so I ended up making a much larger portion than I would normally make for just the two of us.  Thankfully Alan's support worker Vickie helped out by having a large plateful, David had seconds and there's more than enough left for me have have for my dinner tomorrow evening, as D is out. 

I got a message on my FB today reminding me that today is Duran Duran Appreciation Day.  You're welcome :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.