An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Whirlwind of a day!

Oh my heavens!  What a day!  I have not stopped!

Wheechair engineer rang me this morning to ask if he could pop in to fix the faulty footplate on Alan's wheelchair.  Of course.  He was here and the job was completed before Alan was even awake. Fab!  :-)

Jordan arrived to join the quarterly meeting we have with Alan's dietician (they've been conducted online mainly since covid but today was a face to face meeting.  So much better :-)  It was a very timeous meeting as although Alan has recovered from his chest infection, I am still concerned about his general health.

His pallor's still a bit grey with dark shadows under his eyes, his skin is spotty, he feels easily tired and his mood leans towards grumpy rather than his usual happy, smiling and boisterous self.  He's also lost weight again, which shouldn't happen as he is fed via his tummy tube so is getting all the calories, vitamins and minerals he needs.  

Over the last couple of days I've begun to wonder if he might not be absorbing the vitamins and minerals, particularly Vit B12, so it was good to get the chance to discuss it with the dietician.  She agrees that this could be the case and very helpfully is going to write to our GP requesting the required blood tests.  She's also going to write to the Gastro consultant to request a review as Alan seems to have fallen off their radar since covid.

Listening to her talking about the symptoms of Vit B12 deficiency set off a few lightbulbs in my head and I am going to speak to my GP about perhaps being tested too.  My mum had pernicious anaemia that was diagnosed around the age I am now.  My gran (Mum's mum) had low levels of Vit B12 and her mum (my great gran) died of stomach cancer.  Now I have no way of knowing if Low Vit B12 was the cause of that, but it is a possibility.

Once the dietician left we just had time to grab some lunch (last night's left overs :-) before Heather the OT came to deliver the annual mandatory manual handling training to Penny.  I wasn't involved in that other than to offer coffee and make sure they had what they needed.

Once Heather had gone I made the Empire biscuits for tomorrow.  David had put new batteries in my weighing scales so I avoided repeating the disaster from earlier in the week!  Whilst they were cooling I made the Malteser Rocky Road and got it into the fridge, just as D headed off for a late afternoon round of golf at Leven.  

Kitchen tidied (I am an organised but messy cook!) I headed to the study to try and compete some more of my friend Lin's slate painting.  I could get in done in half the time if I could only decide on the design!  I usually have it all planned out before I start painting but this time I had half an idea and decided to crack on.  Won't do that again.  All I know is it will include dogs so I stippled some Golden Retriever shapes onto it today then left it be.  I'll see what I think about it when I return to it on Sunday.

While doing that a delivery of new picture frames arrived and I finally got the seascape paintings for our bedroom framed and the fish painting for the pool room.  Another tick off the to-do list :-)

Had toast with banana and a large mug of tea for dinner (D having his dinner in Leven) and treated Lola to a raw egg (shell too) with her dinner.  She was soooooo excited and licked the bowl for ages afterwards.  

Final task for the evening was to melt the chocolate to top the Malteser rocky road and add the rest of the Maltesers and mini marshmallows to the top.  The Empire biscuits have still to be jammed and iced but I will do that in the morning.  

Now will do my best to get round some journals but I can feel my eyes closing already.  Have a great weekend Peeps....zzzzzzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.