Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Seal

The seals haul out round the bay at Broughton. I try to blip one every year. Here's 2023's. 

Dramatic thunderstorm this morning but the sun is already shining and the temperature rising. We will have a lovely sail past the isles this evening. We are packing up the cottage but we don't leave Westray till 6pm. We are  fortunate to have been given some extra time in the cottage so that we didn't have to rush off. We still have a few things to do today. 

Once we arrive in Kirkwall we drive straight to Stromness. We are on the 'Bed and Breakfast' sailing. This means that we board MV Hamnavoe in Stromness by 8:30pm and go to the (dog friendly) cabin. We sleep (maybe!) on the boat with no rush in the morning for the 06:30 crossing  to Scrabster. I'll report tomorrow how it went. Luckily we don't have far to go in the morning. 

Thanks for the bird suggestions yesterday. I was surprised that the bruiser in the mud is a black headed gull. I think of them as quite dainty gulls. I've added a collage in extras of some other Westray birds. 

I've fallen hopelessly behind with comments again. I will catch up one day! 

For now though I'm off to enjoy a last few hours here. It's never quite long enough but haven't we been lucky to have this week. I have my fingers crossed for next year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.