Loch Lochy Munros

It was a big site day. The biggest chunk of ascent I had to do, almost a thousand feet if you count the ups and downs, with a big rucksack and kit coincided with the hottest period of the day. Its a horrible feeling when you drain the last drips from the water bottle. Thankfully it cooled down and there was a pleasant breeze for the rest of the shift.

A common aspect to our type of work is that clients will come back, days, months and sometimes years later asking for some further development of the survey data they have been provided with. Strictly speaking the data is all there for them to do it in house but our software is very clever and we can do in an hour what a cad technician may take a whole day to produce. I take the view that I would rather get the brownie points for helping the client rather than go down the road of charging out for my time. I invariably end up with these mini desktop projects to do at the end of a planned desk day or at a weekend. This week I do not have a desk day but on Monday morning I had a stressed sounding guy looking for two of these to be done. I said I would be at the desk at the weekend but he needed it sooner. I suspect he could have been better organised and given me more warning.

The funny thing is people phone and are quite happy to expect me to work till ten at night despite leaving their own office for home at ten past five. He's a nice cheery guy but it would be so helpful if folk could plan their needs further in advance. Do you remember getting photo film developed on the High Street. People would have an exposed roll of film rattling about in a drawer for a month then go out and pay a premium for one hour processing because they needed the prints in a hurry.

Anyway this a view of a fine cluster of mountains on the north west of Loch Lochy. There are two Munros here but the most graceful peak is Ben Tee, far right in this image, which is a Corbett.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.