If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Coal Tit ( Periparus ater )

A great day.  We had arranged to meet Don my friend of 72 years, over from Canada for a visit to friends and relations, not to mention a holiday.  As we were meeting for lunch Kanyl came to us in the morning.  While Clickychick helped him develop his macro technique I filled in time.  Part of that time was taking bird photos but not through a window.  I was using items round the garden as a hide.  Very noisy shot because of poor light and my aiming for a high speed owing to the position I was shooting from.  Coal Tit because I rarely get a shot of one as they are rarely still.

We had a great lunch and yarned on reliving old times.  We must have stayed a long time as when we were leaving the girl said I thought you were staying for dinner as well.  Fortunately, it was the village pub and they were clearly joking.  Although when serving us they noticed that 46 years in Canada had changed his Cumbrian enough to know he was "foreign".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.