Out there

Last night's euphoria didn't last long. This whole hospitalisation experience has been one long emotional roller-coaster, notable because of the regularly conflicting statements made by nurses, junior doctors and main men at every step of the way. My bubble was burst before 9.30 am, when the surgeon came on his rounds and told me that he now 'hopes' to do the bypass on Wednesday or Friday of next week! So I plunged into the depths from last night's heights. I told him I was very disappointed, since I'd been told last night that I would be done tomorrow. 'There's still a few things we need to check', he said, 'and we want to have you here in case your symptoms disimprove.' And off he walked.

One of his team, a tall, skinny Egyptian-looking guy dressed in scrubs, led another medical walkabout about an hour later, referred to what the surgeon had said, but told me there was still 'a slight chance' that things would happen tomorrow, though this depended on a number of factors. I clung to this 'maybe' for the rest of the day, supported by the on-duty nurse who advised me to go through the pre-op shower procedure just in case I was promoted to an operating slot (that, too, was later contradicted by an orderly who told me that he'd be the one to take me through the prep procedure, that this normally happens 24 hours beforehand, and that knew nothing about my being due for it.

Thankfully my great friends from Ashbourne came to visit during the afternoon and helped cheer me up, and Carl and one of the music group guys came in later in the evening. By the time six o'clock arrived I was more or less resigned to the fact that nothing would happen tomorrow, so that's how things stand. My original date was Wednesday 17th June, and I guess no improvement will now happen. This place is not half as nice as where I've come from, though, and I'm dreading having to spend a week here. Dreadful disappointment. Get me out of here!

=======================================================

Thanks everyone for all the kind words yesterday. Sorry things have turned out this way, and that the promised surgery won't now happen for almost another week. Your good wishes are much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.