Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Four Books

Awhile ago I decided to reread Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead ,Having read it first when I was still a teenager and remember being inspired I was curious to see how it aged with me.  . So started in but quickly almost quit…it was so intense and dramatic with some characters a bit ridiculous (imo)  …and tediously wordy.  At 727 pages, it was divided into 4 parts.    So I decided to read one part at a time and then another book, before continuing.. This worked well.   I did finish it . I .like the archetecture story but not the people….…the hero being that fanatical individual who puts his own self over everything…no compromises… the alternative being one who is altruistic and considers others.   …. not sure why it remains a favorite with so many.  
Did enjoy 2 of Ann Cleeves Shetland series…have always wanted to go there but now I’ll just read about it ( and look at blippers' excellent photos..and the tv series )   Five Decembers  is a World War ll  mystery beginning in Hawaii , December 1941.  Somewhat historical and a good  read, in spite of the cover. :-)

Sat on the deck in paradise and knit while listening to Wagner’s Das Rheingold …which opens at Seattle opera tonight. We might have considered going home for it in the past but decided not this year.    We’ve loved attending Seattle’s whole Ring series several times .  This is a new borrowed production where the orchestra sits on the stage!  My homage to Rhinegold is the extra… the bedroom door . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.