loisbiz

By loisbiz

Standing Alone

This is the only Dahlia that has opened on this plant, but it is a pretty pink one. A friend gave the plant to me years ago and it has never had more than one flower; I think I need to move it to a different part of my garden.

Ellie was coming back to our house tonight so I decided we should go to the beach when she got here...then I asked my husband if it would be alright if I asked her mom to come with me, he was hesitant but finally agreed she could go with me. He is coming over tomorrow and I told him that if he was disturbed by her being here, he needed to simply tell me and I would make an excuse to go home. I want this to be a good experience for all of us and it will not go well if he gets upset. It is complicated.

After Ellie fell asleep, we had a good visit on the drive to the beach. At one point I asked her, "Where do you see yourself in five years? What do you want your life to look like?" She answered, "I don't think of the future because nothing comes out the way I want." I suggested that the choices she makes today will make a difference in the way her future turns out. She didn't agree; she thinks there is nothing she can do to improve her life. 

But then she started talking about memories of being at the beach and her times at day camp over here; she said she wanted Ellie to go to that camp too. I think this plan of giving her family experiences might be working so that she can see the value of Ellie being here with all of us.  I even think she is feeling better about herself as she talked about what she has done over here. She was especially happy about her time as a camp counselor at the kid's camp nearby our beach house. She also remembers what a good fisherman she was and how she gather mussels and made a great dinner with them. I think remembering success is good for her right now.

Thanks for listening as I process what I am doing and sorting out if I am doing the "right" things. I will try to not use you as sounding boards too often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.