Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Art of being Green

After a quick visit with the neck doctor (next set of injections scheduled for august) and some errands, I grabbed a camera and headed out for a meander.  It was already heating up when I got out, and the mosquitoes were vicious, but I still had a good time.  I was thrilled when I spotted this tiny frog on a milkweed leaf on the edge of the trail - I had walked right past it several minutes earlier and never saw it.  In spite of the green color, it's actually a Gray Treefrog (Hyla versicolor).  As the Latin name implies, their color is variable from greenish as seen here to gray to a mottled in-between color and changes based on habitat.  This one was rather small so perhaps a youngster?  I got an interesting picture of it from above too - see Extra.

Not a lot of dragons today but then again, I wasn't close to the water.  I came across a small feeding flock of migrant birds but armed with only a macro lens, I just watched and didn't get any pictures.  Sometimes it's just nice to "be".  

My parents were able to get out for a walk this morning before the temps in OR headed over 100 F.  Although they don't have the humidity that we have here in NJ, that's still very hot!  Our temps are topping out at 83 F today with humidity currently at 60% headed up to around 85%.  And looks like we will have some strong thunderstorms later tonight.

Jax is currently dreaming with feet and ears twitching and some little woofs.  So stinking cute.  

I think I may have to try the dark with rice again today.  I don't think I love it, but it's worth another try.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.