Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fly-by

Although it has been a somewhat slow summer in terms of hummingbirds, the garden is now abuzz with them as birds from further north as starting to make their way south.  Today there were at least 3 adult males vying for airspace and feeders.  Always fun to watch and equally fun to photograph.  And what is better than feeling the breeze in your hair as one zooms right past your ear?  

Things in the milkweed patch continue to be interesting.  Yesterday I saw a caterpillar turn into a chrysalis on the side of the house - I made a note to myself to go out and get it today once it had a chance to harden.  It was gone.  But on the flip side, I noticed a very fresh, soft monarch butterfly dangling from under a milkweed leaf where it had just emerged (I never even saw the chrysalid.). I quickly moved it into a mesh container to finish hardening (not wanting a repeat of the slaughter that occurred the other day when a yellow jacket killed and dismembered a newly emerged butterfly.)

And that brings me to the topic of the nasty little yellow jackets.  You may recall that I failed to eradicate the nest two nights ago, although I did managed to get stung (my hand now looks like an overstuffed sausage - not even the knuckles are visible).  Last night I donned my "Debbi of the Darkness" costume and went out to the garden well after dark.  This time I inserted the thin straw deep into the nest and filled it with toxic foam.  Happy to report, not a single wasp to be seen today, at least not from that nest.  There are some larger ones hanging about, no doubt from another nest somewhere on our acreage.  If you want a good laugh, have a look in Extra for me wearing my wasp-slaying ensemble.

Rich, luscious, plain dark today (thanks for my parents).  And speaking of parents, we had a long FT chat this morning with everyone looking in the peak of good health.  Work continues as we get the motorhome ready to sell.  

xo
Debbi

PS:  harvested a big bunch of basil this morning and made a batch of pesto for dinner tonight, heavy on the garlic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.