Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

#38

I suddenly realized today that I had not yet added a ruby-throated hummingbird to my visual yard list for the year.  Not sure how it got to be the middle of August without me having done this - oh, wait, maybe that whole cancer thing distracted me!  Anyway, an easy oversight to correct since the garden was buzzing with hummies today.  This is a young male. You can't see it in this shot, but he has one little ruby colored feather already visible on his throat.  

Had a nice long FT chat with Mom and Dad this morning.  It is so nice to be able to see them thanks to the power of technology.  Then a quick chat with my bestie, Ellen to confirm plans to go for a paddle and lunch tomorrow.  

I was up very early this morning, so spent some time outside before the humidity cranked up.  At around 7 AM two of my monarch butterflies emerged from their chrysalis form.  And at approximately the same time, three caterpillars pupated into chrysalis form.  If they were/are capable of cogent thought, what must the caterpillars, hanging upside down, have though when a scant 8 inches away a wrinkled up creature emerged from the little orb?  And, for that matter, what must the butterflies think when they climb out of their cozy chrysalis and have to deal with wings, legs, antennae and a big fat body?  As for me, it occurred to me that this is the first time I've had these two phases of the metamorphosis going on at exactly the same time within inches of each other.  Both butterflies subsequently released, females who flew in memory of women who left the earthly world too soon.  

Hubs returned from the track earlier than expected today due to a mechanical failure in the race car.  Discouraging, to say the least.  

Dark with dried cherries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.