Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

With A Little Help From My Friends

What would you think if I sang out of tune
Would you stand up and walk out on me?
Lend me your ears and I'll sing you a song
And I'll try not to sing out of key
Oh I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm gonna try with a little help from my friends
The Beatles - 1967

I almost didn't even pick up a camera today, but when I went out this morning to tend to the caterpillars, this was the sight that greeted me.  It had to be photographed.  And it had to be my image for today along with these lyrics.

My bestie, Ellen, drove up from Princeton and got here just in time for us to drive to rescue Hubs who had broken down on his bike ride (the bike broke down, not Hubs).  After we got Hubs and the bike home, we headed to one of the local lakes to give Ellen's new kayak it's maiden voyage.  It was perfect weather - warm, low humidity, breezy and scattered clouds.

We paddled for about an hour, chatting and just enjoying the day and each other's company.  They we loaded the kayaks into/onto my car and went into a restaurant right on the lake and enjoyed a leisurely lunch.  We were able to eat outside overlooking the lake (I'll put an image of the view from our table in Extra).  It was a perfectly delightful way to spend the day.

Then when we got home there were three beautiful monarchs ready to fly so we released two for Ellen's parents and one for a friend of mine from High School.  They all headed up into the tall trees, no doubt to talk about their epic transformation from caterpillar to butterfly.  It was perfect.  

The two big caterpillars pictured here are now doing their walkabout, preparatory to the transformation to chrysalis.

I haven't indulged in anything dark yet today, but thinking it may have to be dark with nuts.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.