Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A morning at the Refuge

I met up this morning with two friends who are excellent birders which contributed hugely to my being able to see over 32 species in a relatively short 2.3 miles.  A lot of the neotropic migrants are on the move, including huge numbers of Tree Swallows.  We estimated their numbers at over 200 as they swirled and swooped low over the marsh, gleaning insects to fuel their trip.  I can't ever resist trying to get shots of swallows in flight even though most of my attempts end in mutters of defeat.  Today, however, I got two shots that I liked, this being one.  The sky was overcast and the bird hasn't yet gotten its adult plumage so the image almost has a mono appearance.  Anyway, I like it and who knows when I'll get lucky again with a swallow in flight?

Home to spend some time with the hummies in the yard, then a quick power nap.  And a little time tending to my monarch cats.

Yesterday, Hubs discovered a huge underground yellow jacket wasp nest that something had dug up.  Part of the nest was still there (amazing they can construct something so large underground) and the wasps are very agitated.  Which also makes them quite dangerous as they are aggressive.  Oh, I might as well just say it - they are mean little sons of bitches.  (Sorry).  So tonight we will be eradicating the rest of the nest and its occupants.

But...we were curious as to what had dug it up.  Raccoons, skunks and bears are all likely candidates but it was hard to tell what had been at work.  So, I put my trail cam up.  And discovered a black bear with three birth-year cubs were the likely culprits.  All you can make out on the footage is four pairs of glowing eyes and the general outlines of the bruins.  Good to know they are around, though.  Wouldn't do to startle her.  

August is half over and summer seems to be flying by.  I am still hoping to travel to Columbia in October for 8 days of bird photography, but who knows...

Plain dark today, just because...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.