Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Late Brood

I realized that I had not yet added Tufted Titmouse to my visual yard bird record for this year, and since there is a late brood of them being adorable all over the garden today...well, here we are.

Titmice usually have one brood in the spring so having fledglings this late in the season probably means that the first brood failed.  Whatever the case, it is enough to put a smile on just about any face to walk out the door and hear the loud and energetic begging of a brood of titmice as they follow their parents all over the garden.  In truth, these youngsters are capable of feeding themselves now but they still like to make a huge amount of noise - almost as if they are excitedly telling the world that they're here and that they found food.   I liked this shot for today because you can still see his/her baby gape and if you concentrate, you may even be able to hear that voice...

I was off to the lab this morning to have my blood drawn in preparation for my oncology appointment next week.  It was easy and fast and painless. And I felt it earned me a square of dark chocolate with ginger!

Worked in the office for a bit getting some info off to my insurance broker in advance of the 2022 open enrollment period.  Also a quick trip to the farm to get some milkweed for my hungry caterpillars.  I have them in all five instar stages right now so have three containers going.  Can't keep the tinies in the same container with the 4th and 5th instars because sometimes accidents can happen to a tiny caterpillar.  

I also spent some very enjoyable time behind the lens with the hummingbirds.  I wonder how many thousands of images I've taken of hummingbirds - and yet I never tire of it.  All by way of saying, brace yourself for the onslaught of hummie pictures in the next few weeks!

xo
Debbi

PS:  the last of the nest and wasps were successfully "dealt with" after dark last night.  Now we just need to refill the hole with dirt.  Meanwhile, I am keeping an extra eye out when I'm in the garden just in case Mama and the youngsters come around.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.