Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fluffed

It had to be a hummer today and I particularly like this shot where he was giving his feathers a good shake.  You can also see several of his red gorget feathers starting to come in - he'll be a looker next summer, for sure. It's impossible to know for sure how many hummers are here right now as they never seem to stay still for long and spend their time chasing each other (and sometimes hapless other birds who stray into their airspace).  But I am going through about a quart of nectar a day, in addition to all the nectar-rich flowers in the garden.  

I released my 8th Monarch today - another female.  She was released for a friend of mine in memory of her sister.  And it looks like there may be another tomorrow.  If you'd like me to remember someone with a monarch release, just leave me a comment below.  I've no idea how many I'll raise this year, but love being able to send them on their way in memory of those who've left us.

It looks like our government has just approved a booster for both Pfizer and Moderna, recommended at abut 8 months.  That works out very well for me as it would be several weeks before I am due to leave for Columbia. I had my second Pfizer jab end of January so having a booster before I travel would give me a lot of peace of mind.  

Like many other people, I am following the events in Afghanistan closely.  My heart hurts for the people of that country - I doubt that most of them even remember a time when foreign troops weren't on their soil, or radical groups weren't imposing their will on them.  And I can't help but feel very skeptical about the Taliban's claim that women will be granted rights - that bit about "under Sharia law" gives them wide leeway.  Allied troops occupying the country for countless more decades was never the solution; I'm not really sure what the solution is at this point.  But my heart goes out to the people of Afghanistan and especially the women.

Dark today with bits of espresso beans.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.