Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

For Paul

We arrived back from our short trip around 1 today, just in time for me to release 3 beautiful monarchs who had emerged between yesterday afternoon and this morning.  One went for my great grandmother, Doppy; one for my bestie Peg's mom, Rachel (Extra) and one for my friend Paul's father (also named Paul) who passed several months ago.  Although he did not die of Covid, it did not change the fact that he was unable to be with his children and loved ones at the end.  

I started releasing monarchs in the memory of people who are gone a number of years ago - I've probably released somewhere approaching 500 butterflies.  I don't set any particular goals each year - I just find what has been left for me in my garden and raise each one in a mesh enclosure, safe from predators and parasites.  When it is time to send them on their way, I make sure that each one goes with the memory of someone.  In many cultures, butterflies are believed to be the spirits of the departed who've come back for a visit.  I think that is a lovely thought.

The rest of our stay in the Poconos was great.  We managed to get out on the water again this morning for a paddle together; then while Hubs dealt with disconnecting the "plumbing" for the RV, I went for a solo paddle. It was beautiful and calm this morning.  Which was a nice change from the crazy storm that blew through in the middle of last night, sending people in tents into their cars and had those of us in our RVs worried about leaks and such.  No damage, fortunately, and the day broke clear and perfect.

Hoping to watch some of the DNC tonight.  We watched the clip of Michele Obama's speech this morning - man, that woman is impressive.  It's unfathomable to me that there are people in this country who dislike her.  She's the real deal in my opinion.  

Be safe, people. And don't forget to be kind and loving, even when sometimes those around you aren't.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.