Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Golden

Not one of my best shots, but it had to be my pick today because this is a species of bumble bee I've never seen before.  As soon as I spotted it, I knew it was something interesting - all covered in golden hair with those very snazzy black accessories.  Definitely a bee that is rocking his style!  Turns out to be a Golden Northern Bumble Bee and the flower is red clover.  Seen in New York on the Winding Waters Trail in Wallkill River National Wildlife Refuge.

I met up with one of my nature friends this morning for a nice leisurely walk through fields and along the river - it was overcast and in the low 70's which made it perfect for walking.  We logged 21 species of birds including several warblers and at least 50 Song Sparrows.  And a nice assortment of insects considering that it wasn't sunny.

Back at home, I ran over and picked up my caterpillars from the friend who was "cat-sitting".  All four are big and fat and I expect they will pupate before the weekend is done.  Meanwhile, Nursery 2 has butterflies emerging and a bunch of 1st and 2nd instar cats munching.  Life is good.

I've posted 3 other photos, including an adorable shot of a very young catbird in full begging mode starting HERE.

Hubs and I watched some of the DNC last night.  Strange having it all virtual, but I think they are going a good job.  Joe Biden is now officially the Democratic Candidate for President of the US and tonight Kamala Harris' candidacy as VP will be formalized.  Rolling on towards November...

Be kind.  Be loving.  Be safe!

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.