Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Exuviae me!

Sorry, I could not resist a little entomology pun here.  I was out patrolling the goldenrod this morning and not coming up with much since it was cool and drizzly...until I flipped a frond over and found a Jagged Ambush Bug with its just-shed skin (exuviae).  You know you are hopelessly geeky when a discovery like this has you excitedly snapping photos and feeling very grateful.  I always feel lucky when I find an ambush bug in my garden as they are masters at staying hidden.  They are one of the insects that is able to slightly change their color to blend better with their surroundings, which is critical since they rely on patience, waiting for prey to come within reach.  Not surprisingly, they spend their time on pollen-rich flowers where the hunting is good.  This one is still probably soft and definitely not "hardened" off yet so it is very vulnerable.  It will distance itself from the exuviae to draw less attention.  Based on the size of this one, I'm going to guess that it has molted into its final, adult form although I could be wrong.

I also found several impossibly tiny northern crab spiders in a patch of rudbeckia, along with an adult.  They babies were beyond the focusing ability of my macro lens although I may go out later and try with the raynox150.  

Hubs went into the office today and has a dinner tonight so won't be home until later.  Jax and I are holding down the fort and just got back from a walk on the Lane.  No bears, thank goodness, and only one deer which I saw before Jax did.  We also met our new neighbor who Jax seemed to approve of, based on the wiggles and slobber.

Still loads of hummers in the garden and I've now gone through nearly 15 pounds of sugar so far (nectar is 4 parts water to 1 part sugar).  A small price to pay for the sheer enjoyment of having hummingbirds buzzing around.

Doing lots of reading about rheumatoid arthritis as I prepare for next steps.  It feels a bit overwhelming at times, but I know I will figure it all out.  

Dark with ginger today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.