antipodean

By antipodean

Legally Blonde

I had several lovely pictures from today but I went with the one with most entertainment value. This one just makes me giggle a bit!

I got up bright and early to get to a yoga class this morning with Phoebe, Jess and Tiff. I haven't done yoga for over a year so saying it was a struggle is an understatement. I survived though, and I got to have lunch and a good chat with Phoebe afterwards so that was nice.

Hurried home to get ready to go out for the afternoon/evening. Julia, Liv and I went to the Hollywood Costume exhibition that's on at ACMI at the moment - I missed it at the V&A when I was in London so I am so glad I got to see it here. I love films, and I love love love costume design - not just the physical clothing but the thoughts and decisions behind it. In some ways it's very sociological, and one of the most interesting things to find out was that modern costumes are harder because everyone in the audience is an expert on modern clothing so we really have to believe in it. I could go on and on about how fascinating the exhibition was but I think I'd start to bore you all!

The three of us met Jess for a nice dinner before heading off to see Legally Blonde: The Musical - I was quite excited as Legally Blonde is one of my all time favourite movies, but although I thought the musical itself was good I was pretty unimpressed with the actress playing Elle. Reese Witherspoon clearly embodies that character in the movie so brilliantly that I think anyone other than her is going to seem odd, but I felt this particular actress wasn't very bubbly or convincing. Still, a good evening out with some lovely ladies!

As I said, I have other photos that are technically better or nicer but this is a great shot to represent our evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.