Kanylkloride

By Martigan

Should have read Date?

If I had, I'd have waited until the anniversary of the Newspaper entry  to post it.  I see they've added "Penrith" to its name some time in the past.               As very few locals will now remember, we, for ≈ 13 yrs or, so were in J. G. Johnstone's Jeweller's Shop, retiring both us AND the Shop in 2008.  
         Here's his inaugural "Statement of intent", from almost 100 years ago.  What he doesn't mention; (I wonder if he took it up later), is his Optician's business

Purely for the education of you young 'uns (Anybody under, say 55-60) a Pound was a pound - BUT the 15/- (Shillings) mentioned =75P these days AND the "Selection of Furs from 17/11" we'll call 18/- (Shillings) for ease is awkward.  Just for fun - I used an online converter for old coinage to new; it puts 17/11 as being 90 P whereas 18/- is exactly 90P. 
     I marked where we were, not home, where I took the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.