Once upon a time…

…J  G  Johnstone opened a shop, early 1922.  Somewhere around the house I have a laminated page from The Penrith Herald announces his intended opening.  So far as I know History does not relate when he ceased as an Optician; I'll guess - the first change of hands.

Speaking of hands, it was in our hands when we reached retirement age and nobody was interested in carrying it on past the recession which "nobody" but us, saw coming; which is NOT why we quit.

At some point person or persons, since forgotten, handed me these items, thinking, rightly, that I'd be interested.  However I can't, for the life of me remember if the donor knew what their use was; any Horologists out yonder - H E L P!?!

What I didn't mention, at the return of the Clock, I've forgotten which "safe" place I put the Key in.  Which is how I found these, which missed their turn in the month I did of "Objects older than me" - looking in various likedly Drawers.

ADENDUM:-
A swift peruse of a suitable site kinda suggests - "Watch Hand-Removing Tools."  I wish I'd had them when I needed them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.