I Witness

By KangaZu

Mono Monday: Week 499 ...

... sounds.

Usually when I sit outside there are sounds of summer all around me.  Except for the hummingbirds ... they can be rather quiet.  Unless there are two chasing each other around!

I have an app on my phone called Merlin ... which is a bird identifying app.  In this app is a Sound ID that I use all the time.  I love putting it on when I sit out back so that I know what birds I'm listening to.  And it's always nice when something unusual pops up!  I was using it this morning and in the short 25 minutes I was out there the Sound ID picked up 12 different species of birds!  Including goldfinches, catbirds, cardinals, sparrows, wrens, chickadees and woodpeckers ... just to name some.  It also picked up an Eastern bluebird ... but it's highly unlikely that there was one in our yard as we don't have the environment that they prefer.  

Thanks to loulou164 for hosting Mono Monday all this month.  The ruby-throated hummingbirds are much better seen in color so I've added another shot in Extras.  

Please have a look full screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.