curns' corner

By curns

Grey skies

Awake before I would be if I was in London. The ironing board that was incorrectly delivered yesterday did turn up this morning and some bedding was ironed. I almost went for a morning walk but decided not to thinking we’d go out at lunch time but the weather deteriorated and one of my meetings overran so we ate our crab-bagels without leaving the flat.  It remained grey and damp for most of the afternoon. However, by the time we were walking along the pier, the rain had stopped. It was still quite grey. 

A small win at work. After a project review we agreed that we’d publish the forecasting documentation. The forecasting team had started to look at it over the weakened and I am waiting for comments.

We provided a meter reading and received a bill for the 10th-13th August period.  Now that we seem understand how the 3-meter system works I think we get a handle on it but we’ve run down our credit to almost zero and I expect all out Direct Debits are about to be increased. I’ve spent too much of this weekend thinking about electricity. 

In the moments between finishing work and leaving for the ferry we managed to clean the flat ready for visitors next weekend. We even hot out early to collect something to eat for dinner on the train. We opted for Subway.  My ‘Tex Mexan’ got toasted even though I asked for it not to be.  Nonetheless, it was delicious consumed on the way back. The ferry left a few minutes late but managed to make-up time on arrival at Portsmouth Harbour so we made the train quite easily; although we were out of seats and ready to run up the ramp to the platform if needed.
 
I spent the entire journey, when I was not eating my dinner, reading the Tuesday Murder Club.  And then, when we got home, I sat on the sofa reading it until gone midnight. It seems I am catching-up for my missed months of reading. It’s quite relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.