Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WHAT A DIFFERENCE A DAY MAKES!

Hello lovely Blippers,

This is the last time you’ll see me this week – at least in the hospital anyway, and what a difference a day makes!

Mrs HCB was up about every two hours in the night to go to the bathroom, but I think she was also excited because she felt much better and knew that she’d be going home today.

She was awake at about 5 o’clock, and had already washed her face, cleaned her teeth and brushed her hair by 5.15.

As she walked back into the bedroom, she said to me “Just look at that wonderful sunrise, JH Ted!” so of course I looked out from between the blinds and this was the sight I saw. It reminded me of that song that we used to sing at school “Morning has Broken like the First Morning“, mind you, I couldn’t hear any blackbirds singing!

Of course, you all know Mrs HCB, and she dashed, and yes, I do mean dashed because she doesn’t have any pain in her legs anymore over to the bedside table, picked up her phone and took this shot at 5:18 – exactly 48 hours to the day since she took the first one of me getting ready to come into hospital.

A, the night nurse came to do her obs - the technical term for blood pressure, temperature and oxygen levels - quite early so Mrs HCB showed her the photograph of the wonderful sunrise, and then chatted to her about Blip - well you know what she’s like, don’t you?

She said she does have a dull ache in her back, but then I guess that’s to be expected with major back surgery. She told A that she’s going to be a model patient – that remains to be seen - but she does realise that she needs to do as the surgeon and Mr HCB tell her, so that she can get completely well and go back to doing all the things she enjoys doing.

She’s just had breakfast, and told L & S that the not-so-good cottage pie from Monday night has been completely redeemed by the wonderfully creamy porridge – S told me that L is known as “The Queen of Porridge”, so L was well chuffed to hear that! Mrs HCB said it’s certainly the creamiest porridge she has ever tasted!

So now all that needs to be done is for Mrs HCB’s discharge papers to be sorted out, and she can then ring Mr HCB to come and collect her. I guess his peace is going to be shattered but I don’t suppose he minds.

I’m looking forward to meeting up with the Silly Saturday Gang and telling them all about my adventures here. It’s been a good experience, but not one I really want to repeat and I’m sure Mrs HCB doesn’t either, hence the promise of being a model patient!

Don’t forget, BE KIND to all you meet - because you never know what they are going through.

Love to you all, JH Ted xx

PS A big SHOUT OUT to all the wonderful staff here - they are amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.