TINY TUESDAY

After weeks of having no rain, it was music to our ears to hear rain pattering on our conservatory roof last night, but sadly, it was short-lived.  However, it was a foretaste for our plants and this morning, we have had about an hour’s worth of rain and I’m sure I could hear the plants and flowers saying “Thank you”!

I was up early and out doing my some shopping just after 6.30 this morning and it was decidedly chillier, but really pleasant and I got round very quickly, because there weren’t that many people up at that time.

When I got home it had started to rain, so I decided to go out into the garden, with no coat and no umbrella, to take a few photographs - it was so refreshing.  This rain droplet on one of our hollyhocks caught my eye, so is my main shot, and the extra is a collage of the various flowers blooming and enjoying every drop of rain.

Mr. HCB is hoping that the rain will hold off tomorrow, so that he can go to watch cricket at Bristol but if not, then I’m sure he will find something to do at home or in the greenhouse.  We have had an issue with the fascia boards on the house after we had the new roof fitted earlier in the year, so hope that this can be fixed quickly and you guessed, they are due to come tomorrow.  Ah well, Mr. HCB assures me that a drop of rain won’t stop them - it’s just high winds that roofers don’t like!

Hope the promised rain comes for all of us - but it is definitely cooler than it was.

If you are interested, the flowers in my extra collage surrounding our lovely Braeburn apple are, from the top left going clockwise : 
Chrysanthemum, Carnation, Dahlia, Hollyhock, Courgette, Calla Lily, Dahlia, Agapanthus, Clematis Astra Nova, Compassion Rose, Calla Lily, Salvia Hot Lips.  

I liked this quote from good old Anon - Mr. HCB please take note!

“God made rainy days
     so that gardeners
          could get the housework done!”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.