curns' corner

By curns

Barbican

It was odd that there was only one meeting in my calendar but I completed some further work on the Content Policies that I’d spent a lot of yesterday working. I messed up one of the tickets and so tried to correct it. I suspect I may have inadvertently confused somebody. 

In the evening a train to Waterloo, a tube to Tottenham Court Road and an Elizabeth Line to Farringdon (but using the Barbican exit) and then a walk to the Barbican centre itself.  Tonight, the Barbican was impenetrable. I am not sure the two main entrances are not more clearly signed (or did I miss them) from the various tube exits but they are not. I watered into the Barbican cinema because it’s connected to the other Barbican centre parts but I simply couldn’t find the way way through. So, exited and went up and over. It took me much longer than it should have done. In the end, it turned out if I’d walked right instead of left I would have been where I wanted to be at the start of the misadventure. 

We grabbed some dinner in the Barbican Kitchen.  I ordered and paid for a vegetarian chilli but was served the meat version and, to be honest, I couldn’t be bothered to go back and get the right thing. It’s not the first time recently that I have come away with some food that I did quite order. But hey ho.

We were at the Barbican to see a musical about a Black, queer, New York theatre usher who is writing a play about a Black queer man who, in turn, is writing a play about a Black queer man: A Strange Loop. It’s a no interval 100 minutes of a really well put together show where various people play the inner thoughts and monologue of the main character.  I did not see the all joins between the various versions of the main character and I had to Google who Tyler Perry was when we left (you can, sort of work it out but it’s good to have your thoughts confirmed). 

The Barbican theatre is a great space. We had seats at the front of one of the raised bits (circle, balcony?) which, although to one side, have us a good view of the on-stage action but the seats ere, almost, as confusing as the venue to find. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.