Living my dream

By Mima

Japonica…

…or Chaenomeles, or flowering quince.

It’s great to be sharing plenty of flowers here again. I do love spring. Especially spring days of cloudless sunshine, albeit with a frosty start. 

The sourdough loaves baked beautifully and I had three slices slathered with butter at lunchtime. Sourdough just two hours out of the oven really is a food of the gods.

Thus fuelled I got into the garden and began to weed and compost the Chilean Guava hedge. I didn’t touch it last year so it was heavy going and I only managed half of it today. More to do tomorrow. 

I want to put a hard edge around the hedge to encourage me to prevent future grass and clover incursion. Fortunately I think I have just the thing, in the shape of some huge wooden garden edges which I exchanged for two sourdough loaves and a Camembert cheese a few weeks ago. 

They will need some deconstruction before they are entirely fit for purpose. I feel a session with my sledge hammer coming on.

Bean has languished in the sun almost all day. She was such a baked Bean after lunch that she was almost reluctant to go for a walk. There was no rushing to the gate and waiting for me today. But she soon discovered her enthusiasm when her nose found a rabbit to chase…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.