Living my dream

By Mima

More fungi

These interesting fungi have appeared today, nestled against a slice of rotten macrocarpa wood.

I have been in town to meet a friend who accidentally ordered too many apricot trees for her new orchard, and who offered me one in exchange for “nothing in particular”. I interpreted this as a box of food, and gave her a pumpkin, parsnip, some eggs, and bottles of raspberries and plums, sauerkraut, chutney, chow how and blackcurrant jam. It was a great barter from both of our points of view :-)

After the exchange of goods I headed to the GP surgery for my second Covid vaccination booster. The waiting room was busy which made it impossible to maintain a comfortable distance from others.

And I was staggered to see people wander in with masks covering their chins, or hanging off one ear, and nobody suggesting that they wear them properly. I asked three people who sat near me to please cover their mouth and nose. They all looked slightly shamefaced which was a relief: I’d been half expecting grumpiness.

The rest of the day was spent walking the Bean-dog twice, transporting barrows of compost around the place, prepping the ground for the apricot tree, weeding the fruit cage and digging out raspberry runners.

I’ll be sleeping well again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.