A table for two

What a start to the day I had! I was taking Alan's parents to Brussels Midi for their train home, but when I got to the slip road for the Ring (motorway), it was closed for re-surfacing! The only sign advising it was closed was about 50 metres before the junction, so I had no option but to carry on, but there were no diversion signs!

I programmed the GPS for Brussels and followed that, but then I came across a Police control check point and got waved to the side of the road - they wanted to see my driving licence or ID card and the documents for the car. I explained that I was in a hurry to get to the station as my in-laws had to catch the Eurostar, but he said it wouldn't take long. The documents were in the boot, under the floor, so I had to get the suitcases out to get to them. He then advised me that the papers were out of date! I apologised and said that the new ones were at home - he seemed happy with that, and I thought I'd got away with it. Then he said 'you were driving at 84kms an hour in a 70kms an hour zone so you will receive a fine of 50 euros'! I explained that the entrance to the Ring was closed, and I didn't know where I was and was obviously in a hurry to get the to the station, but it didn't make any difference. No doubt they were there as they knew the Ring was closed, and knew that everyone would be taking this alternative route.

Anyway, I got Norma & Barry to the station in time, and made it home without any dramas. Then I walked into town to meet a friend for lunch, which involved a couple of glasses of wine to de-stress! I didn't get any decent photos, but on my way there I passed this little restaurant with just this one table outside and I thought it looked really quaint and typically French.

It's been another scorcher today, and it's now time to sit on the terrace and relax - hope you have a nice evening.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.