Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Big little black dress - and feet

LauraMuir and I met this afternoon to visit the Little black dress exhibition at the National Museum of Scotland. Afterwards we roosted at the book festival for tea and cake, a wander around the book shop, a glass of wine, and a lot of talking - including a chat with a stranger about book groups.

I was rather disappointed that the Little black dress exhibition was so small. It took up only half the space that temporary exhibitions at the NMS normally occupy. I usually come away from such exhibitions having learnt a lot, keen to discover more, but not on this occasion. Our visit did, however, prompt me to dig out photos of my granny's black beaded dress from the 1920s that I once wore to a University ball, and two dresses made for me in 1995: a short taffeta black cocktail dress for one of Mr hazelh's posh work events, and a black silk dress to wear at the wedding of one of Mr hazelh's sisters. Of course I wouldn't fit into any of these garments now :-( 

My blip is of the lace train of one of the dresses on display at the exhibition. I'm not sure that it could be counted as 'little'.

Earlier in the day I had a meeting at my gym about the possibility of joining a bridge club (although I will need to learn how to play first), and hosted a visit from Bruce at lunchtime. 

We're going to have a late night tonight because my niece Ailish (Paddy's sister) and her boyfriend Danny are arriving by train from London at about 11pm. We're looking forward to a weekend of festival and world cup final football fun with them.

Exercise today: 1 hour on the exercise bike; walking (22,791 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.