Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Robbery

I confess that Robber Flies just fascinate me and I am always excited to find one.  This one is a new species for me and it's far and away the smallest robber fly I've ever seen, measuring no more than a third of an inch/8mm.  In fact, I first thought it was one of those very tiny hoverflies in the Genus Toxomerus.  I am actually having some challenges identifying this little guy but believe the common name is Stripe Legged Robber Fly in the Genus Dioctria.  Anyway, a fun find in my garden this morning.

Hubs and I went out for lunch today and then I headed to the nearby park to do a little "bugging" in their fields.  I found all kinds of interesting things including some fabulous long-horned bees that I will need to get better photos of.  In fact, I may go back tomorrow morning and see if I can get something usable.  Also took Jax for a short walk - he's been content to snooze most of the day which is always nice.

Things in the Monarch nursery are moving fast with the first group almost ready to pupate.  One is already on the move, trying to find the right place to make his Big Move.  I really do enjoy the whole metamorphosis process that they go through - it never gets old.

I haven't dipped into the dark yet today but I am thinking something in a diner theme...

xo
Debbi

And today marks one month since Virginia, my MIL left this world.  Hard to believe she's gone sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.