Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

There's one in every crowd...

Normally damselflies land and primly close their wings...but it does seem that there's a non-conformist in every crowd. This Ebony Jewelwing boy kept fluttering and opening his wings - it's actually the first time I've ever seen one do this. I think maybe he was showing off to get the attention of Miss Julie Jewelwing because a few moments later, he was giving her his best sexy eyes! But what do I know?

Ebony Jewelwing (Calopteryx maculata) is a broad-winged damselfly meauring 1/5-2.5 inches (37-57 mm) in length, making it one of our larger damsels. It is widely distributed throughout the US and part of Canada. It is a desirable garden insect as it eats things like aphids and mosquitos. Unfortunately, it is also a perfect snack for some of the larger dragons - the first jewelwing I saw this morning flew by clenched in the jaws of a dragon.

Morning tea on the deck where I was entertained by Papa House finch and several of his fledglings all of whom were loudly and demandingly begging for food. At one point, one of the babies got completely out of control and leaped on the back of the one Papa was feeding. It was completely hilarious and just the distraction I needed this morning. Too bad the pictures didn't turn out a bit better, but oh well.

I'm waiting to hear from my Dad regarding how mom is doing. She went in for the angiogram about an hour ago so I should hear something soon. Keep those good thoughts coming...

xxoo
Debbi

Post Script: I just heard from Dad that Mom made it through the procedure just fine and is being kept for observation for another 4 hours. She will be able to go home tonight, which is great. Dad will call later with more news - but for now, a giant sigh of relief coming from my little corner of NJ. Thank you all for the well-wishes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.