Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Friends

(19/8/23)

I was busy working at my desk this morning when I had a phone call from an unrecognised number. I'm so pleased I answered it. It was Elizabeth (not in the picture) calling on behalf of Miriam's mum, who is transiting through Dubai on her way to Europe. She invited us for lunch, allowing me to pick the restaurant! I chose Biella because 1. it is close by, and 2. because they make amazing food!

Two and a half hours vanished quickly, eating and chatting. We haven't seen Mary and Elizabeth since pre-COVID! Sometimes it's hard to believe you live in the same city!

We had to leave because the hire car has to be returned today. I had tried to extend it in the morning but couldn't find prices that made sense. Also, Dollar wouldn't bend. We had a couple of errands to run first. One of them was to do a follow-up blood test for G. We got to the clinic only to find out she has to be fasting for at least eight hours to get an accurate result for one of the tests, so we drove to the car rental depot.

There's something about being somewhere in person that helps. Love (yes, that's her name), behind the desk, gave me a better rate than what was quoted on the website, so we have once again extended it. This time, we can keep the car as long as we need and pay at the end. That's a big help. The garage confirmed that the ECU will be repaired locally, and we should get the car back on Tuesday. They also stressed the importance of getting the engine work done.

We came home, and I went straight to my desk, working solidly until 8 PM. It was so good to switch off and come into the living room to cruise into the weekend. I finished my 195th video! Five more to go to 200. I have sixteen days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.