Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

MONO MONDAY - LOOKING THROUGH

One week ago to the day, and this time, I walked down to the operating theatre, using my crutches and in a lot of pain. 

I was lying on a bed, just outside the operating theatre, in the anaesthetics room, chatting with two handsome young men - not sure what their position was - but they were very pleasant- and with Dr R., the main Anaesthetist. 

Dr R. asked me at 10:50 am what I would normally be doing on a Monday morning. I told her about the Community Fridge and said that in a few minutes time they would be praying, because as it is a church-based organisation, we always prayed before the customers came in. I told her that I was sure that today everyone in the theatre, would be prayed for, and they were all very appreciative. 

I know that lots of prayers went up for me that day, not only at the Community Fridge, but also within our church, and also from Christians here on Blip - and I’m also aware of all the good and kind thoughts from those who perhaps don’t pray.

I am pleased to report that I am much better now – I don’t need to use the walker, or my crutches, and having just walked across underneath the carport to speak to our neighbours, Lynn and Mike - even Mike said how good it was to see me, looking so much better. Lynn had earlier remarked that it was great that I was no longer bent double when I walked. 

A transformation and a miracle and I’m so grateful to everyone who has been involved in anyway in my journey.

I still have to rest, obviously - and Mr HCB is making sure I do - because I have had invasive back surgery, but it is so good to be free of pain, and whilst my legs are still numb in places, hopefully that will get better as I progress more.

Mr HCB has just popped over to the Community Fridge to take a large bag full of runner beans for the customers - there’s only so many that two of us can eat - and I really don’t feel like all the hassle of blanching and freezing them this year. Hopefully, therefore, several of my friends - and many of the customers have become friends - at the Fridge, will enjoy the fruits – or should that be vegetables (?) – of Mr HCB’s labours in the garden.

I wanted to take part in the Mono Monday challenge today so thought a shot “looking through” our conservatory doors would be good - but mono doesn’t really do it justice, so I’ve put a colour shot in as an extra. 

Must dash - it’s 10.56 and I need to pray for all the volunteers and customers who will be at the Community Fridge today. 

Bless you all - and thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts for Mr HCB’s efforts. Bootneck’s comment was very amusing and brought a smile to our faces as well as some of yours!  I have ordered two pairs of compression socks with zips down the sides - not as much fun, but hopefully easier to put on! 

P.S.  You may remember that we practise "No Mow - April to September" and it is a great success, although the purists among you probably won't like our long grass.  However, the number of insects and pollinators has been amazing, so it's working. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.